university challenge continued

so after almost two weeks of escapades and a severe lack of posting, I thought I would and should post an update on the university front.

Results day. Prior to arriving at sixth form at 08:00 to collect my results I had everything ready for all eventualities – a list of clearing vacancies, the contact details of my firm and insurance choices, my AS Level and GCSE results, a list of good points about the courses in clearing in order to sell myself, a copy of my personal statement and my kitchen sink.

Before I got there I already knew I hadn’t got into my first choice uni as I checked UCAS track en route and it displayed the message “Congratulations! Your place at The University of Manchester for Linguistics has been confirmed.” My first choice being UCL, this didn’t really bother me as I expected not to get the A required in my Law A Level to get in to UCL. 

So I continued into the common room to do the classic envelope open and found that I had got ABC (if you can hear Jackson Five in your head I can only apologise). This again wasn’t a huge shock to me but when speaking to one of my tutors I did, for the first time throughout this whole experience, get upset about my results. Not because they are bad results, but because I didn’t want to go to my insurance choice and felt overwhelmed by what my next steps would or wouldn’t be.

My tutor was very helpful and advised me to ring the clearing choices before asking to be released from my insurance choice. To cut a very long story short, I then returned home and spent what seemed like eternity on hold to clearing hotlines and took a couple of rejections but came out of it with an offer from Queen Mary University of London, which I took.

I then began the process of being released into clearing on UCAS and adding Queen Mary as my choice, which seemed to take forever, in fact, I took a few days for my place to be confirmed on UCAS. 

So all of this and more happened on the Thursday and on the Saturday I went to Soul Survivor week B in Shepton Mallet, Somerset. Whilst I didn’t want to do this following results day because I knew I’d have to arrange uni stuff whilst there, I still went as I knew I needed to.

God has been completely faithful through all of this. I know that He sees me and is in control of the situation – I may not have a home yet but I will have (if you’re the praying kind please pray that an accommodation place will be confirmed ASAP).

So God has been working in incredible ways and I will be studying in London this September, how amazing?! 

Today I went to IKEA to start on my moving in collection and tomorrow I’m going to check out the campus – updates will be on here and Instagram sooooon (@instahangaf)

Ciaooooo

han

Leave a comment